ECHO – short film written and directed by Victor Perez– depicts a girl who wakes up in the middle of nowhere to see in a mirror her reflection ten seconds ahead of her time. When she wakes up again the nightmare has just started over.

Work done

Super exited to announce that Echo is finally finished! It will premiere at 19th of September at the ‘London ACM SIGGRAPH Event ‘ and I will be attending. The film, directed by Victor Perez, is completely filmed with motion control in a Green Screen studio at Stiller Studios. I worked on the Green screen extraction only together with the Lead compositor Richi Paramo. This was especially challenging since the takes were so long. The shots were up to 1700 frames, and the camera movements were very complex. Moving from Close-up with fine hair detail to a wide-shot and back to closeup again. See the final film below. Also check out the making of to get an impression of the amount of technique went into making this film.

  • Screen extraction


  • Independent Shorts Awards International Film Festival 2018 – Best Experimental Short. Best Visual Effects (Honorable Mentions: Best Cinematography & Best Sound design
  • Hollywood Motion Picture Film Festival 2018 – Best Experimental Short Film.
  • Queen Palm International Film Festival 2018 – Best Visual Effects (Silver), Best Sound Design (Honorable Mention) & Best Film Mystery / Thriller.
  • Los Angeles Film Awards 2018 – Best Visual Effects.
  • One Reeler Short Film Competition 2018 – Best Actress & Award of Excellence.
  • Worldfest Houston International Film Festival 2018 – Best Narrative Live Action Short Film.
  • Festigious Film Festival 2018 – Best Visual Effects & Honorable Mention: Director (Victor Perez).
  • Gold Movie Film Festival 2018 – Best Experimental Film.
  • Accolade Global Film Competition 2018 – Best of Show.
  • Best Shorts Competition 2018 – Best of Show.

The film

Making of Echo

Echo news


Directed by

Victor Perez

Writing Credits (in alphabetical order)

Victor Perez (written by)


María Ruiz María Ruiz Maria

Produced by

Patrik Forsberg executive producer
Victor Perez producer
Tomas Wall producer

Music by

Piernicola Di Muro Composer

Cinematography by

Marcus Dineen D.O.P.

Film Editing by

Zimo Huang Editor

Makeup Department

Anna Göransson make-up/hairstylist

Production Management

Debbie Jones production accountant

Sound Department

Christopher Barnett re-recording mixer
Gabor Buczko sound engineer
Danny Caccavo digital editorial support
John Countryman audio/video transfer
Matteo Di Simone sound designer
Jessica Engel post-production sound accountant
Mauro Eusepi foley artist
Andrea Gambaro adr recordist
Dusty Jermier engineering services
Josh Lowden general manager
Miklós Lukács pro tools engineer
Liz Marston assistant re – recording mixer
Antonello Martina recording coordinator
Steve Morris head of engineering
Award Network adr stage
Jonathan Null head of production (as Jon Null)
Carrie Perry scheduling
Mike Peters post production sound finance manager (as Michael Peters)
Eva Porter client services
Massimo Puccio consultant: Dolby Atmos / dolby atmos consultant

Visual Effects by

Xabier Arrieta compositor
Stefano Bagnoli roto artist
Ottaviano Brando cg supervisor
Marco Cademartori roto artist
Edoardo Carmignani roto artist
Bernardo Cecioni roto artist
Kajsa Christiansson prep artist
Claudia Coppa prep compositor
Pierre D’oncieu roto artist
Valerio De Vita roto artist
Talha Dumanoglu roto artist
Giancarlo Gallinoro match mover
Pablo Navarro-Rubio Gonzalez compositor
Jorge Grandes prep artist
Björn Gromoll lead cg generalist
German Jarrys digital matte painter
Pawan Kumar roto artist: The Edge
Sanjeev Kumar roto artist: The Edge
Sonu Kumar roto artist: The Edge
Ragini Kumari roto artist: The Edge
Shweta Kumari roto artist: The Edge
Marco Masotti prep compositor
Manuel Mastropirro prep compositor / roto artist
Alessandro Melillo roto artist
Simone Menegatti roto artist
Maud Muratore texture artist
Jose Zea Nombela technical animator
Richi Paramo compositor
Miriam Pavese compositing supervisor
Victor Perez visual effects supervisor
Andrea Piersanti lead compositor
Giorgio Pitino prep compositor
Francesco Polito prep compositor
Timothy Preston temp vfx compositor
Vikas Rawat visual effects production manager: The Edge
Filippo Renga roto artist
Luca Simonato vfx generalist
Marco Speranza cg modeller
Aleksandra Stojanov roto artist
Giulia Tirelli visual effects production coordinator
Tomas Tjernberg motion control operator
Aron Tornberg motion control software engineer
Luca Valletta roto artist
Gregoire Verweijen compositor
Tomas Wall vfx director
Sofia Wennström motion control software engineer
Raoul Wentzel compositor

Camera and Electrical Department

Marco Camilli epk producer/cameraman
Simon Gullström grip/gaffer
Carlo Liberatore epk producer/cameraman
Maja Persson grip/gaffer
Rasmus Pultz live previz
Niklas Wånggren grip/gaffer (as Niklas Wångren)

Editorial Department

Greg Fisher colorist
Angela Juzswik epk editor
Stefano Zordan epk colorist

Music Department

Fabrizio Mancinelli orchestrated by
The Budapest Scoring Symphony Orchestra performed by
Peter Pejtsik score conductor
Bálint Sapszon session supervisor
Soundiva music production services

Other crew

Gabriella Barbuti additional voice talent
Anna Sapszon librarian
Olle Westberg d.i.t.


Jorge Bazaco thanks
David Diez thanks
Marcus Dryden thanks
Lucas Lacasa thanks
Noa Lacasa thanks
Carlo Liberatore thanks
George Lucas thanks
Fabrizio Mellone thanks
Riccardo Morici thanks
Nicki Morris thanks
Nadine Obst thanks
Ellen Payne thanks
James Perez thanks
Teodora Sava thanks
Cristian Sella thanks